House Republicans Introduce Resolution to Expunge Second Trump Impeachment

  • by:
  • 03/02/2023

House GOP Conference Chair Elise Stefanik and more than two dozen of her colleagues are supporting a resolution to expunge President Trump’s second impeachment. 

Rep. Markwayne Mullin is leading the resolution, which would apply to Trump’s 2021 impeachment, Fox News reports. It is similar to a previous resolution Mullin introduced on Trump’s first impeachment. 

"Democrats used their second impeachment resolution to once again weaponize one of the most grave and consequential powers of the House," Mullin said in a statement. "This was never about the Constitution; it was rooted in personal politics."

While it will most likely not pass the Democrat-controlled House of Representatives, it highlights Republicans’ continued support for Trump. However, if it were to pass, it would make it as though the impeachment article had never passed the House in the first place. 

"The American people know Democrats weaponized the power of impeachment against President Donald Trump to advance their own extreme political agenda," Stefanik, R-N.Y., told Fox News. 

"From the beginning of this sham process, I stood up against Nancy Pelosi’s blatant attempt to shred the Constitution as House Democrats ignored precedent and failed to follow the legislative process," Stefanik continued. "But President Donald Trump was rightfully acquitted, and it is past time to expunge Democrats’ sham smear against not only President Trump’s name, but against millions of patriots across the country."

The resolution brings up many grievances Trump and other Republicans have about the 2020 election, including on recounts and mail-in ballots. It also rails against the articles of impeachment themselves. 

One line argues that "Article I of the Resolution cites two quotes from President Trump’s January 6, 2021, speech on the Ellipse that lack any context, and are viewed in a light most unfavorable to the President." 

The resolution also makes process complaints about the lack of an "evidentiary hearing," and that "no witnesses were heard." 

The resolution has 28 cosponsors, including Reps. Andy Biggs, Matt Gaetz, Brian Mast and Jody Hice. 

Image: by is licensed under