ACU announces 2013 ratings of Congress

A press release from the American Conservative Union:

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Conservative Union (ACU) Chairman Al Cardenas today announced the 2013 ACU Ratings of Congress, the 43rd edition of the conservative ratings guide. Since 1971, the nation’s oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization has annually graded Members of Congress based on their votes on key conservative issues. The full 2013 ACU Ratings of Congress guide is now available online at

“On behalf of our entire Board of Directors, I applaud and thank the Members who achieved perfect or high scores on our 2013 ACU Ratings of Congress. Under this administration, the role of government continues to grow and infringe on our freedoms. It is important we have strong principled members in Congress to take this agenda head-on,” said ACU Chairman Al Cardenas.

Throughout the history of the conservative ratings program, ACU has become the go-to source for determining whether an elected official’s philosophical rhetoric matches his or her record. The guides provide a comprehensive analysis of the legislative landscape over the preceding year. This differentiates ACU from other useful guides which may emphasize single areas, like taxes, defense, or social policy. Our scored votes are not announced as such throughout the legislative year, ensuring our scores deliver an accurate assessment. The ACU tracks a wide range of issues before Congress to determine which issues and votes serve as a clear litmus test separating those representatives who defend liberty and liberal members who have turned their backs on our founding principles – constitutionally limited government, individual liberty, free markets, a strong national defense and traditional American values.

The 2013 ACU Ratings of Congress includes scores for each individual member in both the Senate and the House of Representatives, a description of the votes scored in each Chamber and lists of members receiving special recognition as “Defenders of Liberty,” – those scoring a perfect 100 percent – or “ACU Conservatives” – those scoring 80 percent or higher.

ACU today announced the winners of the “Defender of Liberty” award, given to those members of the Congressional Legislature who were present and cast a vote for each adjudicated roll call and scored 100 percent on the 2013 ACU Ratings of Congress. In the Senate, these members included:  Tom Coburn, Ted Cruz and Mike Lee.

In the House, these members included: Michele Bachmann, Ron DeSantis, Jeff Duncan, Scott Garrett, Trey Gowdy, Jim Jordan, Raul Labrador, Tom McClintock, Mick Mulvaney, Mike Pompeo, Trey Radel, Matt Salmon, Steve Scalise, David Schweikert and Steve Stockman.

The winners of the “ACU Conservative” award – given to those members who scored 80 percent or higher – in the Senate are: John Barrasso, John Boozman, Richard Burr, Dan Coats, John Cornyn, Mike Crapo, Mike Enzi, Chuck Grassley, Dean Heller, Jim Inhofe, Ron Johnson, Mitch McConnell, Jerry Moran, Rand Paul, Jim Risch, Pat Roberts, Marco Rubio, Tim Scott, Jeff Sessions, John Thune and Pat Toomey.

In the House, these members included: Justin Amash, Joe Barton, Kerry Bentivolio, Gus Bilirakis, Rob Bishop, Diane Black, Marsha Blackburn, Kevin Brady, Jim Bridenstine, Mo Brooks, Susan Brooks, Paul Broun, Vern Buchanan, Larry Bucshon, Michael Burgess, Dave Camp, Eric Cantor, Bill Cassidy, Steve Chabot, Jason Chaffetz, Mike Coffman, Doug Collins, Tom Cotton, John Culberson, Steve Daines, John Duncan, Chuck Fleischmann, John Fleming, Bill Flores, Virginia Foxx, Trent Franks, Cory Gardner, Phil Gingrey, Louie Gohmert, Bob Goodlatte, Paul Gosar, Tom Graves, Tim Griffin, Ralph Hall, Andy Harris, Jeb Hensarling, George Holding, Richard Hudson, Tim Huelskamp, Bill Huizenga, Randy Hultgren, Robert Hurt, Lynn Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Walter Jones, Steve King, Jack Kingston, Doug LaMalfa, Doug Lamborn, James Lankford, Billy Long, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Cynthia Lummis, Kenny Marchant, Thomas Massie, Michael McCaul, Patrick McHenry, Mark Meadows, Luke Messer, John Mica, Jeff Miller, Markwayne Mullin, Randy Neugebauer, Pete Olson, Steven Palazzo, Erik Paulsen, Scott Perry, Robert Pittenger, Joe Pitts, Bill Posey, Tom Price, Reid Ribble, Tom Rice, Scott Rigell, Phil Roe, Dana Rohrabacher, Todd Rokita, Dennis Ross, Keith Rothfus, Ed Royce, Paul Ryan, Mark Sanford, Austin Scott, Jim Sensenbrenner, Pete Sessions, Adrian Smith, Jason Smith, Lamar Smith, Steve Southerland, Chris Stewart, Marlin Stutzman, Mac Thornberry, Ann Wagner, Tim Walberg, Randy Weber, Brad Wenstrup, Roger Williams, Joe Wilson, Rob Woodall, Kevin Yoder, Ted Yoho and Todd Young.