Conservative Spotlight: The Bradley Foundation

The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation each year hands out its Bradley Prizes, a group of awards valued at $250,000 each. 

With them, the foundation recognizes individuals who have performed valuable work in areas consistent with the foundation’s mission.

Heading up the 2010 class of Bradley recipients for their “outstanding achievement” in
their respective fields are the following individuals:

Michael Barone, senior political analyst for The Washington Examiner and resident fellow at the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research. Mr. Barone also serves as a Fox News contributor and is co-author of The Almanac of American Politics. His syndicated columns often appear on

Paul A. Gigot, Wall Street Journal editorial-page editor. Mr. Gigot is also winner of the 2000 Pulitzer Prize in Commentary for his weekly column on politics, “Potomac Watch.” He is currently the vice president of the WSJ and host of the weekly Fox News show “The Journal Editorial Report.”

Bradley A. Smith, the Josiah H. Blackmore II/Shirley M. Nault Designated Professor of Law at Capital University. Mr. Smith is also a former member of the Federal Election Commission (FEC) where he served for five years, nominated by former President Clinton to fill a Republican-designated seat. He is a former law professor at George Mason University.

John B. Taylor, the Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics at Stanford University and the George P. Schultz Senior Fellow in economics at the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. Mr. Taylor is noted for his research on foundations of monetary theory, his expertise on public policy, and experience in international economics. He is the author of Getting Off Track: How Government Actions and Interventions Caused, Prolonged and Worsened the Financial Crisis.

Nominations for this year’s Bradley Awards came from more than 100 prominent individuals in various fields, including experts in academia, public-policy research, journalism, civic affairs and the arts.

The Selection Committee includes many notable conservatives: Terry Considine, Martin Feldstein, Robert P. George, Michael W. Grebe (Bradley Prizes committee chairman), Charles Krauthammer, Dennis Kuester, Dianne J. Sehler Abigail Thernstrom and George F. Will.

Michael W. Grebe, president and chief executive officer of the Bradley Foundation, said about the winners: “These accomplished and respected individuals are being recognized for achievements that are consistent with the mission statement of the foundation, including the promotion of liberal democracy, democratic capitalism and a vigorous defense of American institutions.”

Ultimately the creation of two brothers devoted to the ideal that a good society is also a free one, the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation seeks to promote human dignity, free and representative government and an unfettered private enterprise.

The Bradley brothers embodied this vision, building a successful business venture starting with a $1,000 investment from their friend and “father figure” Dr. Stanton Allen.
Exercising their capitalistic freedom and the spirit of innovation granted to them in a free country, the Bradley brothers believed they could build better controllers for regulating motor speed.

A result of their business acumen, the Allen-Bradley Company was enormously successful and was eventually purchased by Rockwell International in 1985, the year that the foundation began. 

The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation has become one of the largest philanthropic institutions in the United States. 

The foundation still stays true to the “donor intent” of the two brothers, advancing “limited, competent government,” “a dynamic marketplace for economic, intellectual, and cultural activity,” and the recognition that “responsible self-government depends on enlightened citizenry.

For more information on the Bradley Foundation, go to