With Blue Dogs Help, Healthcare Bill Clears Hurdle

The House voted 222-203 today to keep the doors open for passage of health care via the "Slaughter Solution" – which allows the Senate health care bill to be deemed as passed in the House without an up or down vote. Six members did not vote.

The vote came thanks to a resolution by Democrat-Turned-Republican Rep. Parker Griffith of Alabama. Had Griffith’s resolution passed, it would have forced Democrats to allow an up or down vote on health care before it was considered passed.

“Republicans in the House and Senate have worked closely together or the last year, and we’re going to continue to work closely together to do everything that we can do to make sure that this bill never, ever, ever passes,” House Republican Leader John Boehner said at a press conference Thursday morning before the vote.

The vote came in the midst of another war between parties over the CBO scoring of the health care legislation – Democrats began leaking numbers before the CBO released the official estimate and before Senate Republicans were even able to see the report.

After the vote, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer informed members that the House could have recorded votes as early as 10 a.m. Saturday, and they will also be in session on Sunday.

Of the much-watched Blue Dog caucus, 35 voted ‘yea’ to support keeping the Slaughter Solution on the table. Nineteen sided with Republicans in voting ‘nay.’  Below is a complete list of how the Blue Dogs voted:

Yea- 35

Rep. Jason Altmire (Pa.)
Rep. Joe Baca (Calif.)
Rep. John Barrow (Ga.)
Rep. Marion Berry (Ark.)
Rep. Sanford Bishop (Ga.)
Rep. Leonard Boswell (Iowa)
Rep. Allen Boyd (Fla.)
Rep. Dennis Cardoza (Calif.)
Rep. Ben Chandler (Ky.)
Rep. Jim Costa (Calif.)
Rep. Henry Cuellar (Tex.)
Rep. Lincoln Davis (Tenn.)
Rep. Joe Donnelly (Ind.)
Rep. Brad Ellsworth (Ind.)
Rep. Bart Gordon (Tenn.)
Rep. Jane Harman (Calif.)
Rep. Baron Hill (Ind.)
Rep. Betsy Markey (Colo.)
Rep. Jim Marshall (Ga.)
Rep. Jim Matheson (Utah)
Rep. Dennis Moore (Kan.)
Rep. Patrick Murphy (Vt.)
Rep. Scott Murphy (N.Y.)
Rep. Collin Peterson (Minn.)
Rep. Earl Pomeroy (N.D.)
Rep. Mike Ross (Ark.)
Rep. John Salazar (Colo.)
Rep. Loretta Sanchez (Calif.)
Rep. Adam Schiff (Calif.)
Rep. Kurt Schrader (Ore.)
Rep. David Scott (Ga.)
Rep. Zack Space (Ohio)
Rep. John Tanner (Tenn.)
Rep. Mike Thompson (Calif.)
Rep. Charles Wilson (Ohio)

Nay- 19

Rep. Mike Arcuri (N.Y.)
Rep. Dan Boren (Okla.)
Rep. Bobby Bright (Ala.)
Rep. Christopher Carney (Pa.)
Rep. Travis Childers (Miss.)
Rep. Jim Cooper (Tenn.)
Rep. Kathy Dahlkemper (Pa.)
Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (Ariz.)
Rep. Stephanie Herseth-Sandlin (S.D.)
Rep. Tim Holden (Pa.)
Rep. Frank Kratovil (Md.)
Rep. Mike McIntyre (N.C.)
Rep. Charlie Melancon (La.)
Rep. Mike Michaud (Maine)
Rep. Walt Minnick (Idaho)
Rep. Harry Mitchell (Ariz.)
Rep. Glenn Nye (Va.)
Rep. Heath Shuler (N.C.)
Rep. Gene Taylor (Miss.)