Democrats Pass Historic Spending Package

Late on Friday evening the Senate passed the Democrats nearly 790-billion-dollar stimulus package. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) cast the final vote in the 60-38 decision. Republican Sens. Arlen Specter of Pennsylvania, Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe both of Maine helped Democrats reach the 60 votes needed to pass the bill.

Earlier in the day the House of Representatives also approved the enormous spending bill 246-183, with no Republican support.

Seven Democrats in the House voted against it; Heath Shuler (D-N.C.), Bobby Bright (D-Ala.), Parker Griffith (D-Ala.), Walt Minnick (D-Idaho), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) and Gene Taylor (D-Miss.)

Five Democrats flip flopped from their previous “no” vote in the House to favor the final stimulus package; Allen Boyd (D-Fl); Brad Ellsworth (D-In); Paul Kanjorski (D-Pa); Jim Cooper (D-Tn); and Frank Kratovil (D-Md).

Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-Il) was the only member to vote “present.”

President Obama, in his weekly address to the nation called the stimulus package a “major milestone on our road to recovery." Reports say that Obama is set to sign the bill on Tuesday.

CORRECTION: This brief originally reported that President Obama traveled to Rep. Brad Ellsworth’s district and that Ellsworth flew with Obama on AirForce One prior to the stimulus vote. HUMAN EVENTS apologizes for our error as we have been informed that Obama visited Elkhart, Indiana in Rep. Joe Donnelly’s district.