A New Class of House Conservatives

17 Republican freshmen have officially joined the Republican Study Committee, the home-base for conservatives in the House, and applications are still coming. RSC members, currently led by Chairman Tom Price (R-Ga.), are key in bringing conservative legislation and conservative solutions to the House floor — several of its members ignited the “Drill, Baby, Drill” rebellion in Congress this summer and were crucial to the initial defeat of the bailout. The 17 first-term representatives who have joined the RSC to date are Steve Austria, Bill Cassidy, Jason Chaffetz, Mike Coffman, John Fleming, Brett Guthrie, Gregg Harper, Duncan D. Hunter, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Cynthia Lummis, Tom McClintock, Pete Olson, Erik Paulsen, Bill Posey, Phil Roe, Tom Rooney, Aaron Schock, and Glenn Thompson.

For a list of all Republican Study Committee members, see the RSC member list at the committee’s official website.

HUMAN EVENTS will continue to profile these new members in our weekly Meet the Member series. Click on a highlighted representative’s name to read profiles already published.