Connect with us


Republican Losses in House

In final counts through November 9, 20 incumbent Republican U.S. representatives had lost their bids for re-election in last week’s midterm elections. Democrats also won in eight districts in which Republican incumbents either retired or resigned.

The 28 lost GOP seats are shown in the chart. No incumbent Democratic House member was defeated anywhere and Republicans failed to win any House seat relinquished by a Democrat.

In seven U.S. House districts, the candidates are within one percentage point of each other and these races are thus subject to recount: Here are the Republican candidates involved: Representatives Rob Simmons (CT-2), Heather Wilson (NM-1), Robin Hayes (NC-8), Jean Schmidt (OH-2), Dave Reichert (WA-8), and Barbara Cubin (WY-AL) and Democratic Rep. John Barlow (GA-12). In all districts except those of Simmons and Barlow, the Republican candidate is ahead.

Incumbents Resigned/Retired
Charles Bass (NH-2) Bob Beauprez (CO-7)
Jeb Bradley (NH-1) Sherwood Boehlert (NY-24)
Chris Chocola (IN-2) Tom DeLay (TX-22)
Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-6) Mark Foley (FL-16)
Gil Gutknecht (MN-1) Mark Green (WI-8)
Melissa Hart (PA-4) Jim Kolbe (AZ-8)
J. D. Hayworth (AZ-5) Bob Ney (OH-18)
John Hostettler (IN-8) Jim Nussle (IA-1)
Nancy Johnson (CT-5)
Sue Kelly (NY-19)
Jim Leach (IA-2)
Anne Northup (NY-3)
Richard Pombo (CA-11)
Jim Ryun (KA-2)
Clay Shaw (FL-22)
Don Sherwood (PA-10)
Mike Sodrel (IN-9)
John Sweeney (NY-20)
Charles Taylor (NC-11)
Curt Weldon (PA-7)

Written By

John Gizzi has come to be known as ???the man who knows everyone in Washington??? and, indeed, many of those who hold elected positions and in party leadership roles throughout the United States. With his daily access to the White House as a correspondent, Mr. Gizzi offers readers the inside scoop on what???s going on in the nation???s capital. He is the author of a number of popular Human Events features, such as ???Gizzi on Politics??? and spotlights of key political races around the country. Gizzi also is the host of ???Gizzi???s America,??? video interviews that appear on Gizzi got his start at Human Events in 1979 after graduating from Fairfield University in Connecticut and then working for the Travis County (Tex.) Tax Assessor. He has appeared on hundreds of radio and TV shows, including Fox News Channel, C-SPAN, America's Voice,The Jim Bohannon Show, Fox 5, WUSA 9, America's Radio News Network and is also a frequent contributor to the BBC -- and has appeared on France24 TV and German Radio. He is a past president of the Georgetown Kiwanis Club, past member of the St. Matthew's Cathedral's Parish Council, and secretary of the West End Friends of the Library. He is a recipient of the William A. Rusher Award for Journalistic Excellence and was named Journalist of the Year by the Conservative Political Action Conference in 2002. John Gizzi is also a credentialed correspondent at the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund. He has questioned two IMF managing directors, Dominique Strauss-Kahn and Christine LaGarde, and has become friends with international correspondents worldwide. John???s email is JGizzi@EaglePub.Com

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.