Seven Defectors

The Levin withdrawal amendment was defeated 39 to 60. Sen. Lincoln Chafee (R.I.) was the only Republican who supported it. Six Democrats, however, broke ranks and opposed it: Mark Dayton (Minn.), Mary Landrieu (La.), Joe Lieberman (Conn.), Bill Nelson (Fla.), Ben Nelson (Neb.), and Mark Pryor (Ark.). Lieberman has been a consistent supporter of the war. Dayton has shown increasing independence since deciding last year not to seek re-election. Both Nelsons face potentially tough Red State reelection battles in November, and Landrieu and Pryor are always mindful that they hail from deep behind Red State lines.


View All