Kerry-Kennedy Filibuster on Alito Fails

Samuel Alito moved a step closer to Senate confirmation Monday after a Democrat-led filibuster attempt failed, 72-25, on the Senate floor.

The move, led by Massachusetts Sens. John Kerry and Teddy Kennedy, attracted a mere 25 votes — leaving the duo well short of the 41 votes need to sustain a filibuster.

Democrats voting for cloture (to cut off debate and move to a final vote) included:

Daniel Akaka (Hawaii)
Max Baucus (Mont.)
Jeff Bingaman (N.M.)
Robert Byrd (W.Va.)
Maria Cantwell (Wash.)
Thomas Carper (Del.)
Kent Conrad (N.D.)
Byron Dorgan (N.D.)
Daniel Inouye (Hawaii)
Tim Johnson (S.D.)
Herb Kohl (Wis.)
Mary Landrieu (La.)
Joe Lieberman (Conn.)
Blanche Lincoln (Ark.)
Bill Nelson (Fla.)
Ben Nelson (Neb.)
Mark Pryor (Ark.)
Jay Rockefeller (W.Va.)
Ken Salazar (Colo.)

No Republicans defected, including Sen. Lincoln Chafee (R.I.), who said earlier Monday he would vote against Alito’s confirmation when it comes before the Senate tomorrow.