Shadegg in Charge:

House Republicans tapped conservative Rep. John Shadegg (Ariz.) as the new chairman of the Republican Policy Committee, making him fifth-ranking Republican in the House. Shadegg (lifetime American Conservative Union rating: 97%) formerly chaired the conservative Republican Study Committee now headed by Rep. Mike Pence (Ind.). Shadegg is the only member of the Republican class of 1994 to currently hold a leadership post. He replaces Rep. Chris Cox (R.-Calif.), who stepped down to become chairman of the Homeland Security Committee.