Phillips Foundation Bestows Journalism Fellowships

  • by:
  • 08/19/2022

The Phillips Foundation held its Eleventh Annual Journalism Fellowship Awards Dinner on Tuesday, May 11, at the National Press Club. The Phillips Foundation bestows annual fellowships to journalists who are recognized for promoting constitutional principles, a democratic society, and a vibrant free enterprise system.

This year seven working journalists were awarded Phillips Fellowships for projects on a variety of topics:

  • Jesse DeConto ($50,000 Gold Award), editor of the Rockingham News, for ??¢â???¬?????Nueva Frontera . . . the New South: Latino Immigrants in North Carolina??¢â???¬ ??¢â???¬ ¦quot;a look at the fastest growing Latino community in the nation.
  • Joshua Kwan ($50,000 Gold Award), a metro reporter for the San Jose Mercury News, for ??¢â???¬?????In the Shadows Cast by North Korea: An Examination of the People, Politics, and Economic Forces at Work Along the Borders of the Hermit Kingdom.??¢â???¬ 
  • Diana Marrero ($50,000 Gold Award), staff writer at the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, for ??¢â???¬?????Thriving Ties: An Exploration of the Connections between People in the United States and Cuba despite a Decades-old Embargo and What These Ties Mean for Future Relations between the Two Countries.??¢â???¬ 
  • Millie Ziegler ($50,000 Gold Award), staff writer at the Federal Times, for ??¢â???¬?????Interfaith is No Faith: How Religious Relativism is Destroying the Church.??¢â???¬ 
  • Jeff Chu ($25,000 Silver Award), a London-based staff writer for Time, Rich Trzupek ($25,000 Silver Award), a columnist and reporter for Examiner Publications, and Megan Bsaham ($7,000 Alumni Fund Award), a senior editor at Christ??¢â???¬â???¢s Church of the Valley in Arizona, were also recognized for their projects.

    The guest speaker for the awards banquet was Tony Snow, conservative talk show host on the Fox News channel. Donald P. Hodel, retiring Phillips Foundation Trustee, introduced Becky Norton Dunlop, a new trustee of the foundation.

    Conservative columnist and author Robert D. Novak presented the Lifetime Achievement Award, posthumously to late Wall Street Journal Editorial Page Editor Robert L. Bartley. Previous Lifetime Achievement recipients include: William Rusher (1999), George F. Will (2000), and James J. Kilpatrick (2001), William F. Buckley, Jr. (2002), and Robert D. Novak (2003).

    The Phillips Foundation??¢â???¬â???¢s annual journalism fellowship program grants an award to working print journalists for self-selected projects that support American culture and a free society. In addition to Tom Phillips, the foundation??¢â???¬â???¢s Board of Trustees this year includes Robert D. Novak, Alfred S. Regnery, Donald P. Hodel and Thomas A. Fuentes.

    Since the founding of the Phillips Foundation Journalism Fellowships, 45 fellowships have been awarded to working journalists. Phillips Fellows include staff writers at the Washington Times, Washington Post, HUMAN EVENTS, The Weekly Standard, the Asian Wall Street Journal, and Education Week.

    For further information, contact the Phillips Foundation (301) 340-2100 or

  • Opinion

    View All

    Court Deals Big Blow to Big Tech Censorship

    Ultimately, this ruling is a substantial victory for political speech regardless of partisan affiliat...

    WATCH: Alan Dershowitz Explains Why He Is Representing Mike Lindell in Lawsuit Against FBI

    'It's crucially important, particularly for Democrats like me and liberals like me, to hold the Justi...

    NYC Has Brilliant New Plan to Erect Tent Cities to Deal With 'Migrant' Problem

    'While other leaders have abdicated their moral duty to support arriving asylum seekers, New York Cit...

    © 2022 Human Events, Privacy Policy