Economy & Budget

Members of U.S. House Send Letter to Bush on Bailout


Twenty six U.S. representatives from the Republican Study Committee sent a letter to President Bush Monday expressing concern over the use of TARP funds for a Big Three bailout.

“No one wants the “Big Three” to fail, and we are not proposing it,” the letter states. “But the federal government cannot undo decades of mismanagement.

“Tempting as it is to step in with a federal bailout, American taxpayers cannot afford to save every company facing financial peril. Last year’s federal deficit was the highest nominal deficit in U.S. history.”

Below is a copy of the letter and a list of the representatives who have signed the document.


Representatives who signed the above letter: Jeb Hensarling (TX), Tom Price (GA), Bill Sali (ID), Tom Feeney (FL), Michele Bachmann (MN), Phil Gingrey (GA), Scott Garrett (NJ), Wally Herger (CA), Paul Broun (GA), John Shadegg (AZ), Louis Gohmert (TX), Sam Johnson (TX), Lynn Westmoreland (GA), Randy Neugebauer (TX), Mary Fallin (OK), John Culberson (TX), John Boozman (AR), Buck McKeon (CA), Dan Lungren (CA), Brian Bilbray (CA), Jack Kingston (GA), Lamar Smith (TX), John Doolittle (CA), Marsha Blackburn (TN), John Sullivan (OK), Jeff Miller (FL)


Sign Up